Gambit Hack’ademic : a success for this first international hackathon!

Published on 05/12/2018

Participating in a hackathon is not a first for Gambit! But this time, it is on the organizing side that the Belgian company has placed itself.

13 teams, 52 students, 3 countries, a few dozen coaches… these are the ingredients that have made this international hackathon a real success.

Gambit Financial Solutions organised its first international hackathon on 23, 24 and 25 November at the former Brussels Event Brewery: the Gambit Hack’ademic.

During these 3 days, 13 teams of young student developers (bachelor, master or within coding schools) from Belgium, France and Switzerland worked on a collaborative project of computer programming and digital creation with the theme “Digital banking of tomorrow”.

Their mission: to imagine which services could best serve the clients of tomorrow’s bank (“Step into a new life with a digital bank”). Savings initiation solutions for children, budget management application for students, automatic profiling… The students, coached by Gambit teams, competed with each other in their imagination on various issues.

At the end of this weekend of intensive work, the projects were submitted to the jury for a vote, composed of members of Gambit, Microsoft, Hello Bank, the B-Hive platform, the MadKings agency and the start-up Frimgle. Among the criteria used to decide between them: “Innovation, technicality of their achievements and their involvement during the three days,” says Thomas Soumagne, Head of Development at Gambit Financial Solutions. The key for the winners: Iphone X or Apple watches, but also and above all the possibility of eventually obtaining a job in the company, which continues its recruitment in a context of strong international growth.

The First Prize went to the Wild Code School in Brussels, the Innovation Prize went to Technifutur and Helmo won the jury’s favourite.

“It is a great pride for Gambit to welcome all these participants who demonstrate their desire for excellence, their desire to learn, their tenacity,” said Geoffroy de Schrevel, CEO of Gambit Financial Solutions, who won the first prize at the BNP Paribas International Hackathon in 2016.

For Bart Soers, Head of Value Proposition and Strategy at Hello Bank, and member of the jury, “our role as a digital bank is to be a leader in innovative solutions and this hackathon is a great opportunity to discover the developers of tomorrow”.

The awards ceremony was attended by Jean-Claude Marcourt, Minister of Higher Education, Research and the Media, who reaffirmed the importance of the Hackathon, this “life experience that allows us to have a collective goal and work together”. “80% of innovations are based on the ability to imagine things differently,” the minister said on that occasion.

Congratulations to all the participating teams, this event was a great experience for the Gambitians!

See you in 2019 for more adventures with Gambit!

 

Revive the international hackathon weekend organized by Gambit in partnership with Hello Bank thanks to this after movie! Focus, fun, animations, emotions … everything’s in there!

 

Partager

Gambit Hack’ademic : une réussite pour ce premier hackathon international !

Publié le 05/12/2018

Participer à un hackathon, ce n’est pas une première pour Gambit ! Mais cette fois, c’est du côté organisateur que la société belge s’est placée.

 

13 équipes, 52 étudiants, 3 pays, quelques dizaines de coachs… voici les ingrédients qui ont fait de ce hackathon international un véritable succès.

 

Gambit Financial Solutions a organisé les 23, 24 et 25 novembre dans les locaux de l’ancienne brasserie Brussels Event Brewery son premier hackathon international : le Gambit Hack’ademic.

Pendant ces 3 jours, 13 équipes de jeunes développeurs étudiants (en bachelor, master ou au sein de coding schools) venus de Belgique, de France et de Suisse ont travaillé sur un projet collaboratif de programmation informatique et de création numérique avec pour thème la « banque digitale de demain ».

Leur mission : imaginer quels services pourraient servir au mieux les clients de la banque de demain (« Step into a new life with a digital bank »). Solutions d’initiation à l’épargne pour les enfants, application de gestion de budget pour les étudiants, profilage automatique… Les étudiants, coachés par les équipes de Gambit, ont rivalisé d’imagination sur des problématiques variées.

A l’issue de ce week-end de travail intensif, les projets ont été soumis au vote du jury, composé de membres de Gambit, de Microsoft, de Hello Bank, de la plateforme B-Hive, de l’agence MadKings, ou encore de la start-up Frimgle. Parmi les critères retenus pour les départager : « L’innovation, la technicité de leurs réalisations et leur implication pendant les trois jours », souligne Thomas Soumagne, responsable développement de Gambit Financial Solutions. A la clé pour les vainqueurs : des Iphone X ou des Apple watch, mais aussi et surtout la possibilité de décrocher à terme un emploi dans la société, qui poursuit ses recrutements dans un contexte de forte croissance internationale.

Le Premier Prix a été attribué à la Wild Code School de Bruxelles, le Prix de l’innovation est revenu à Technifutur et Helmo a décroché le coup de cœur du jury.

« C’est une grande fierté pour Gambit d’accueillir tous ces participants qui démontrent leur goût de l’excellence, leur désir d’apprendre, leur ténacité », s’est félicité Geoffroy de Schrevel, CEO de Gambit Financial Solutions, qui avait remporté le premier prix du BNP Paribas International Hackathon en 2016.

Pour Bart Soers, responsable Value proposition et strategy chez Hello Bank, et membre du jury, « notre rôle en tant que banque digitale est d’être leader sur les solutions innovantes et ce hackathon est une belle occasion de découvrir les développeurs de demain ».

La remise des prix s’est déroulée en présence de Jean-Claude Marcourt, ministre de l’Enseign ement supérieur, de la recherche et des médias, qui a réaffirmé l’importance du Hackathon, cette « expérience de vie qui permet d’avoir un but collectif et de travailler ensemble ». « 80% des innovations reposent sur la capacité d’imaginer différemment les choses », a rappelé le ministre à cette occasion.

Un grand bravo à toutes les équipes participantes, cet événement a été une expérience formidable pour les gambitiens !

 

Rendez-vous en 2019 pour d’autres aventures avec Gambit !

 

Revivez le Week-end du hackathon international organisé par Gambit en partenariat avec Hello Bank grâce à cet after movie.  Concentration, fun, animations, émotions … tout y est !

Partager